Family Vacation

My family and I took a short, two-day vacation to the mountains of northwestern Virginia. I hate mountains, but it was a chance to get away. If you think that means no gaming, you’re sorely mistaken. At least, my girls got to play.

On the ride to our destination, I was in charge of child wrangling and entertaining as well as navigating. Part of the entertaining was providing my older daughter with the Game Boy Advance. She played some Dig Dug, The Legend of Zelda, and even Texas Hold ‘Em. Every 15 or 20 minutes, she’d ask if I wanted to play a game. Of course I wanted to play, but because I had to be available for either of their needs and also give directions, I couldn’t.

When we got to the hotel around 6:30 PM, the first thing I did was set up the Nintendo and start a game of Super Mario Bros. I finished 1-1 before I had to stop and take care of other things. My daughter took over from there. She played that for a short time before she stuck in the old gold cartridge that is The Legend of Zelda. She seems to have a love for Link that rivals my own.

Over in the corner, my younger daughter was excitedly pressing buttons on her V.Smile, a little handheld, cartridge-based system that was rarely touched by my older daughter when we bought it for her five years ago. Honestly, it would be considered retro gaming by child-geared gaming systems these days. She squealed, “My GAAAAAAY-em!” the moment I opened the bag that contained it. While she had no clue what she was doing in the game, she enjoyed every second of it.

The two of them were content with their games while my husband and I busily brought in bags and set up the room. Through dinner and right up until bedtime, they played. We didn’t touch any games for the rest of the time we were there, but for that one evening, they saved what otherwise would have been a disappointing evening for them because we got to town too late to do anything else.

Leave a Reply

